Dog Lover Dilema solved: finds alternative to costly dog boarding kennel.

Would just like to say Thankyou for your site.
As a first time user, it is wonderful to know that a service like this exists.

I was in a real dilema about leaving my dogs in kennels and the cost involved when a friend just happened to mention getting a housesitter and here I am.


Housesit: Mothar Mountain, southeast of Gympie Queensland Australia
We have a 9 acre property which is 15 minutes drive from Gympie township,40 minutes drive to Noosa or Tin Can Bay about 50 minutes Drive to Rainbow Beach and 2 hours drive North of Brisbane. We have 2 very old dogs, a German Shepperd and a Rottweiller, both very friendly, who need very little looking after but do need someone to be with them for company while we are away.

We also have 6 free range chickens that will need to be tended to. We have a few garden beds that will need watering and the lawns will need mowing,some with a ride on mower and some with a hand motor mower. Half of our water supply is pumped from our dam and the rest is rainwater.

There is not a great deal of work to do around the property so there will be plenty of time to take in some of the sights in the area and just enjoy the peace and tranquility. We have lots of birdlife to enjoy also.

Sitter found for Brisbane QLD house sit opposite an egret colony

Thank you once again for your service. We have now chosen one and deactivated our search. We appreciate this website, as it seems to bring the results every time.

Home owner sandra Redlands Victoria Point Brisbane Queensland Australia

We are looking for a mature person or couple to look after our cat, and water plants, we have bore water so this should not be a problem. We are in a lovely location,it's a modern home, close to the water, and opposite an egret colony

Housecarers in the press

The house sitting agreement is featured in the following story. House sitting is going main stream, with more and more people recognising this win-win solution for accommodation.

Yes, You Can Live Rent-Free At, Personal Finance and Business Advice.

Merseysiders connect with the right housesitter and released for holiday

Dear Housecarers.

Thank you very much for your invaluable service. We had 2 answers in less than 24hrs and both were ideal, unfortunately we could only use one. Now we can go for our holiday to England knowing that our house and animals are being well looked after. We will certainly use your services again next year. Thanks again
.... Merseysiders

Housesit Glen Innes NSW Australia:
We live in a semi- rural area in the New England Tablelands, in the heart of Celtic Country. We are 9kms out of town, just 5 mins by car. Our home is a 100 year old federation style dwelling with a separate s/c cottage which sleeps 3. Our 'kids' are 2 Maltese, 2 long hair Chihuahuas and 1 Llasa Apso, who really do think that they are kids.

They don't need walks etc, just lots of cuddles and loving. We also have 3 cage birds. There are cottage gardens, which you can feel free to potter about in, and a ride-on mower for the lawns, if you are able. Would prefer non-smoker.

Sitter memmereof3 saves thousands travelling New England

I love this site. It has saved me thousands of dollars. In the past year I've been able to spend approximately 3 months traveling to New England and housessiting. The Boston area is where my family live and this is a great way to come from CAL and visit often. Thanks so much.

We've used your site to advertise for housesitters in our Sacramento area home and have been very satisfied with the response and caliber of the people using this site. I highly recommend to all my friends and family... Janice

View profile for house sitter memmereof3

House Sitters twotravellers share their experiences and house sitting plans

Hi Ian

You recently asked for an update on our current house sitting status.

When we returned home from our UK house sit and touring our household situation changed dramatically. We had lived in a granny flat at my Dad's for eight years but he has decided to go into a retirement villa. Although he travels with us a lot, he has found his current house too large when we are away. As a result we are temporarily homeless.

We have bought a villa for ourselves but if we rent it out for 12 months we are eligible for an interest only, business loan. So finding house sits became a real priority, then out of the blue Len and Christine contacted us ( via housecarers ) and offered us a house sit. It was perfect timing as we have now been able to put our household effects in storage - less clothes. Every thing went into storage on the 12th and we moved down here on the 15th of March.

( 1 ) Currently we are on a small holding, about 25 minutes from Bathurst.
It is terribly dry here and I have the job of trying to keep the extensive gardens alive.

We have two rescue dogs - Poppy ( a sheltie, about 11 ) and Bella ( A kelpie cross, about 7 or 8 ) to care for. In addition we have 7 birds ( in avaries ), two turtles and numerous wild birds that come for a feed. The owners have a fairly orderly system - but that is good because we know when to do what and can adjust our touring around this. We are here for four weeks, until the 16th of April.

The home owners have a lovely neighbour called Gwenda and she has had me to dinner as well as taking me out to a native plant field day yesterday. Gwenda has a fabulous garden and has already supplied us with fresh tomatoes, fresh beans, pickles and other great food.

( 2 ) We go home to camp out at Dad's place for three weeks, have a garage sale for him and move him into his new place. We then leave for the USA on May the 5th or 6th to do two house sits - each for three weeks. One in Norfolk, Virginia ( 3 cats ), then one in Kentucky , Tennesee ( a two year old Pomeranian ),

( 3 ) We have then been invited to stay with friends in Michigan for a week - having a real American 4th of July.

( 4 ) We have about a week free once we fly on to the UK - we may go back to Ireland

( 5 ) July the 15th, start a 5 week house sit in Liverpool ( one cat called Kali ). We always arrive a few days early to meet the animals and get to know the house and its quirks. We met the home owner last December ( 2006 ) when we were doing our London house sit. Her sister now lives in Sydney and we are meeting up for dinner when we finish the housesit here in Bathurst.

( 4 ) Then we are going back to our London house sit so that the house owners can have a summer holiday in Portugal. We can't be too bad if they will have us back :).

( 5 ) Back to Australia in the middle of September, 2007

( 6 ) We are in the running for a house sit in Adelaide for all of October.

Hope this has been helpful,
John and Kerrie


View profile for sitters twotravellers

Globe trotting house sitter looks up her friends across the country

I just wanted to let you know that since joining I have house/pet sat in New Mexico for a month, in Honolulu for a month, in st. paul,mn for a month, and in May I will be in Tucson AZ for 2 weeks and in June I will be in Atlanta, GA for a month.

I have been choosing places where I have old friends or family. Jane (username:janieben)

View profile for house sitter janieben

4.5 months Tampa Palms Florida housesit filled by Californian looking to relocate

I can't tell you how wonderful your service was to use. It was so easy. We received notes from many highly qualified and interesting sounding applicants.

We went over them all, wrote back to some and decided on a delightful person from California looking to relocate in Florida. Thank you for a rewarding experience--what a marvelous service!

homeonwer member: stanleyreahard

Housesit 4.5 months Tampa Palms Florida
We live in a lovely 3 bedroom, 3 bath house in an area convenient to USF, golf courses, Busch Gardens,Gulf beaches (40 minutes) and an hour drive to Orlando. The house has a pool, spa and sauna and is on a conservation lot that backs up to a pond. We are connected to high speed internet and have two offices where a sitter can set up to do business.

We have ongoing yard and pool service and can make arrangements with our cleaning crew if desired. We are walking distance to shopping and an Episcopal church. A multi-plex is 2 miles down the road as are restaurants and chain stores.

We also have a cat who loves to sit on the desk while you work and on your lap when you watch tv so if you're allergic, this house is not for you! Please contact us if you're interested. We'd love to have a couple or a single to enjoy our house and take good care of our cat.

House sitting amoung the wines, hazel nuts and the white truffles of Alba Italy

"Just finishing having a 5 month house sit for our home in Italy. It worked out great. We have just organized another for a three week period.
Thanks for your wonderful service..." Homeowner member Krath10

Housesit: Cessole Piemonte Italy. From April 1 2007
We have a three bedroom home in the hills of the Langhe. The area is famous for its wines, hazel nuts and the white truffles of Alba. We are looking for someone to stay at our home from April 1st to the 27th. We would like people that are pleased to take care of the gardening and who could also do some general repairs etc. A car is necessary

House sitting Press

Here are some press releases on house sitting experiences through

Subscribe to House sitting press feed