Sitter Grace100 lines up Canadian housesits

So far I have been successful in arranging three housesits through the website. One in Ottawa south, one in Milton, and one in St. Adele, Quebec. I am presently negotiating for one in Toronto. It has worked very well for me, and thanks for providing this excellent service.

For the Ontario housesits I replied to an ad, for the Quebec housesit the homeowner contacting me directly. Eliabeth (Grace100)

View profile for sitter Grace100

Hilton Head Island, SC USA is my winter home for over three months - maryfromtheprairie

"Hilton Head Island, SC is my winter home for over three months solely because of joining Housecarers as a Gold Member.

My husband spotted the ad put in by these wonderful folks and next thing he knew I was asking for his password to his pay pal account so we could become members. That was August 12, 2007 and by mid September, we were 'chosen' in just one week by this charming couple who are travelling on the QE II for 90 days on her last 'Round the World Cruise'. We definitely made a connection!!!

We are from western Canada and they are from southeastern United States and this was the first housesit we officially applied for through Housecarers. References from both the northern and southern hemisphere solidified the agreement.

Thanks Ian for your wonderful service ... maryfromtheprairie

View profile for maryfromtheprairie

Feline Obesity, a Danger to Your Cat

The growing epidemic of obesity in the United States isn't restricted to the human population alone, an increasing number of house cats are now mirroring their owners indulgent behaviours.

Read Full article - Feline Obesity, a Danger to Your Cat

twodogsandme Says - Too Easy!

Too easy! In very short time found a lovely lady who is looking forward to staying with my dogs and enjoying my property while I am away.

The only difficulty was making a choice from so many obviously suitable people.

Thanks for the great service! (twodogsandme)

2 months housesit Woodbridge Tasmania (south of Hobart )

I am planning to visit my daughter who is currently living in England – exciting, except that my two mates, Lora ( a Rhodesian Ridgeback X) and Hannah (a Staffy X) can’t come along… so am hoping to find someone to keep them company for May and June, 2008.

Our home is on 15 acres in a beautiful coastal rural region of southern Tasmania with Hobart about a 45 k drive away. There is a general store, Post Office and Petrol Station in Woodbridge which is 4k from house. The house is somewhat unconventional ( straw bale and post & beam construction), has solar power (with good efficient battery charger and generator as back up).

All mod cons and slow combustion wood heating so clean, warm and comfortable living. The main house has only one bedroom and some internal steps. Adjacent is a small cabin which is used as guest room (has own shower & toilet). There is plenty of parking if you travel with a motorhome, caravan, etc.

Sited for the magnificent views and sunshine in a quiet private area, it is a place to relax, walk, enjoy the wildlife and scenery…………...and play with the dogs! I do have a garden (newly established) and you would be welcome to potter about in it but no hard work is necessary or expected. There are some chickens, but they are very low maintenance… just need to top up the feed bin and water as required and collect eggs.

My main concerns are the dogs … they are both very friendly, reasonably well trained (eg: no begging for for food is allowed!) and easy to get along with. They are used to going most places with me ( even prefer to sit in the car for hours rather than stay home). Lora is 11.5 years old and Hannah 10, so relatively mature and don’t need lots of exercise … just pats and company.

They have several ‘aunties and uncles’ in the community who are happy to take them in if you wish to take some short overnight trips. I would also be happy for you to use my car to take dogs for outings to beach, etc. There is a strong sense of community in the district so you would quickly be welcomed by my friends if you wish to socialise with the locals.

I would appreciate hearing only from folk who are prepared to stay the whole period I am away, preferably arriving a little earlier so that I can familiarise you with “the workings”. So, if you feel you would enjoy a holiday here, I look forward to hearing from you. Please don’t hesitate to ask any questions.

Brisbank homeonwer: "It takes the headache out of going away! "

Hi there,

I wanted to let you know we found a suitable couple to look after our house within a day through your site. Actually, there were several who sounded suitable.

Thanks for providing such a good service. Within a day we had had more than ten responses. It takes the headache out of going away!


Suzanna (Skywards)

Housesit 4 weeks March 2008 Brisbane Qld

Our comfortable house has a veranda, swimming pool and wireless internet, plus a huge library of books. There is an indoor Burmese cat, who is very affectionate, and a low maintenance Siamese fighting fish. We are looking for a responsible single person or a couple to house-sit.

The 1 Hot Travel Destination of 2008? Says Who?

United States citizens hankering to travel abroad will be disappointed in the Lonely Planet's top pick for hot travel destinations for 2008.

Read entire story - No 1 Top Travel Desitnations 2008

Sitters ibujenny leave French Mid Pyrenees Home in perfect order

Thank you for your very professional website. Our housesitters
'ibujenny' were everything we could have wished for - friendly,
experienced and charming - our home was left in perfect order.
.... Homeowers (ecurie)

View profile for sitters ibujenny

Housesit details for ecurie:

5 week Housesit Lauraet Midi Pyrenees Gers France

Require reliable house sitter to feed and care for our two cats and look after our lovely home for five weeks early October/November 2008. Large comfortable stone house (fully equipped), wood, lake, stunning views, peaceful countryside, and warm climate. We have lived here for eleven years. Interesting historical sites and bastide villages nearby. Pyrenees and Atlantic coast 2 hours drive. Nearest town with shops, markets and supermarkets 12 minutes drive. Age

Travelling Overseas - what about Vaccinations?

Your passport and visa may be sorted? But what about Vaccinations for your overseas trip? It is advisable to start planning this 6 months before your intended trip.

Read more below:
Vaccinations required for International Travel

Travelling Overseas - what about Vaccinations?

Your passport and visa may be sorted? But what about Vaccinations for your oversease trip? It is advisable to start planning this 6 months before your intended trip.

Read more below:
Vaccinations required for International Travel

Housesitting in UK France and Italy

Just a note to let you know that we think your Forum is wonderful! We have been sitting full time for a year now in UK France and Italy and are on our second year. We have written a book titled "Endless Holidays - A Guide to House and Pet Sitting" which we will self publish in February. We would love to advertise it with you then.

So the Forum is another big plus for Housecarers which has been a very valuable site for us. We are booked out for the next year until we go home to Australia for a break and our daughtert's wedding in November 08.

Many thanks for a wonderful initiative.
Cheers Lynne and Mike ... House sitters edm0nds

View profile for sitters edm0nds